$17.99

Chlorine Sky

Current Stock: 1
UPC: 9780593176399
Gift Wrapping: Gift Wrapping Available
Authors: Mahogany L. Browne
  • Language : English
  • Hardcover : 192 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 0593176391
  • ISBN-13 : 978-0593176399
  • Reading age : 14 - 17 years
  • Lexile measure : NP
  • Grade level : 9 - 12

A novel-in-verse about a young girl coming-of-age and stepping out of the shadow of her former best friend. Perfect for readers of Elizabeth Acevedo and Nikki Grimes.

"Mahogany L. Browne's debut YA ia an absolute masterpiece. It will leave you breathless." -Elizabeth Acevedo, New York Times bestselling author of The Poet X

She looks me hard in my eyes
& my knees lock into tree trunks
My eyes don't dance like my heartbeat racing
They stare straight back hot daggers.
I remember things will never be the same.
I remember things.

With gritty and heartbreaking honesty, Mahogany L. Browne delivers a novel-in-verse about broken promises, fast rumors, and when growing up means growing apart from your best friend.

From School Library Journal

Gr 8 Up—Skyy is a Black teenager in modern-day California struggling with the end of her friendship with former best friend Lay Li, while also discovering herself outside of her former friend's shadow. Told in first-person narration, this short novel in verse introduces readers to Skyy's confusion and pain over the loss, offering her possible ideas as to why the girls grew apart. While Skyy just wants to spend her days in the pool and on the basketball court, Lay Li is more interested in makeup, boys, and clothes. Maybe they were just too different. Maybe they were never as close as she thought. However, readers also see what drew the girls together, such as absent parents and shared secrets. Despite their rift, when Skyy gets her first boyfriend, the only person she wants to talk to about her new relationship is Lay Li. Readers will find the changing friendships relatable, though they may want more character development, especially for Skyy. The book includes minor references to drug use, sex, and nonconsensual touching. VERDICT A contemporary look at changing teenage friendships and finding ways to accept yourself.—Monisha Blair, Rutgers Univ., NJ

Review

"A profound reminder that sometimes the most revolutionary thing a girl can be is herself. I couldn't put it down.—Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin

"A story about heart and backbone, and one only Mahogany L. Browne could bring forth." —Jason Reynolds, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Long Way Down

"Browne’s searing and poignant writing will undoubtedly bring readers back to her stories again and again." –Renée Watson, New York Times bestselling author

"A searing voice that commands attention." —Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times bestselling author of the Belles series

"Chlorine Sky is a vivid literary balm that animates the English language with rhythm, heart, and radical truth telling love." -Aja Monet, Nuyorican Poets Café Grand Slam Champion

"A remarkable, compelling voice." The Bulletin, Starred Review 

"A coming-of-age novel for Black girls
 who have been told they’re too much and yet never enough." –Kirkus Reviews

About the Author

Mahogany L. Browne is a California-born, Brooklyn-based writer, educator, activist, mentor, and curator. She has published several books of poetry, and she is an Urban Word NYC Artistic Director (as seen on HBO's Brave New Voices), founder of Women Writers of Color Reading Room, and Director of BLM@Pratt Programming, and facilitates performance poetry and writing workshops throughout the country.

Mahogany's poetry picture books include Black Girl Magic and Woke Baby.