$14.99

Friday Black

Current Stock: 8
UPC: 9781328911247
Author: Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah

This title is the January/February 2019 pick for the THE BUILD BOOKCLUB! Find out more here.

  • Paperback: 208 pages
  • Publisher: Mariner Books (October 23, 2018)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1328911241
  • ISBN-13: 978-1328911247
  • Product Dimensions: 5.3 x 0.6 x 8 inches

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

A National Book Foundation “5 Under 35” honoree, chosen by Colson Whitehead

“An unbelievable debut, one that announces a new and necessary American voice.” 
Tommy Orange, New York Times Book Review

“An excitement and a wonder: strange, crazed, urgent and funny.” —George Saunders

“Dark and captivating and essential . . . A call to arms and a condemnation . . . Read this book.” Roxane Gay

A piercingly raw debut story collection from a young writer with an explosive voice; a treacherously surreal, and, at times, heartbreakingly satirical look at what it’s like to be young and black in America.

From the start of this extraordinary debut, Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah’s writing will grab you, haunt you, enrage and invigorate you. By placing ordinary characters in extraordinary situations, Adjei-Brenyah reveals the violence, injustice, and painful absurdities that black men and women contend with every day in this country.

These stories tackle urgent instances of racism and cultural unrest, and explore the many ways we fight for humanity in an unforgiving world. In “The Finkelstein Five,” Adjei-Brenyah gives us an unforgettable reckoning of the brutal prejudice of our justice system. In “Zimmer Land,” we see a far-too-easy-to-believe imagining of racism as sport. And “Friday Black” and “How to Sell a Jacket as Told by Ice King” show the horrors of consumerism and the toll it takes on us all.

Entirely fresh in its style and perspective, and sure to appeal to fans of Colson Whitehead, Marlon James, and George Saunders, Friday Black confronts readers with a complicated, insistent, wrenching chorus of emotions, the final note of which, remarkably, is hope.

Author

Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah is from Spring Valley, New York. He graduated from SUNY Albany and went on to receive his MFA from Syracuse University. His work has appeared or is forthcoming in numerous publications, including GuernicaCompose: A Journal of Simply Good WritingPrinter’s RowGravel, and The Breakwater Review, where he was selected by ZZ Packer as the winner of the 2nd Annual Breakwater Review Fiction Contest. Friday Black is his first book.