The Young Feminist is a monthly bookclub open to all genders interested in reading and discussing literature that promotes equity in a casual, welcoming environment, with a suggested participation age of 11–17.

page-bookclub-rio-sept-2019-image.jpg

Hosted by RIO OBENAUF: an eighth-grader at Metro Middle School in Columbus, Ohio, who loves reading, dancing, animals, family, and friends.
rio-obenauf.jpg


Thursday, March 19, 2020, 6-7pm: This month's pick is 
Other Words for Home by Jasmine Warga

ABOUT: A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed.  

“Warga portrays with extraordinary talent the transformation of a family’s life before and after the war began in Syria.… Her free-verse narration cuts straight to the bone... [and] confront[s] the difficult realities of being Muslim and Arab in the U.S. Poetic, immersive, hopeful.”
Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

View the book on the Columbus Metro Public Library site: https://cml.bibliocommons.com/item/show/3200744105
View the book on the HQ website: https://twodollarradiohq.com/other-words-for-home
View the Facebook event page: https://www.facebook.com/events/1039565509759711/

Other Words for Home

 


PAST PICKS FOR THE YOUNG FEMINIST BOOKCLUB,
CURATED BY RIO OBENAUF

February 2020: Gabi, a Girl in Pieces by Isabel Quintero
Gabi, a Girl in Pieces

January 2020: On The Come Up by Angie Thomas
On The Come Up

December 2019: No One is Too Small to Make a Difference by Greta Thunberg
No One is Too Small to Make a Difference

November 2019: I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter by Erika L. Sánchez
 I am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter

October 2019: With the Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedo
With the Fire on High

September 2019: Dear Ijeawele, or a Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions by Chimamanda Ngozi AdichieDear Ijeawele, or a Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions