Or, "Word After Word: A Feminist Speculative Fiction Book Club" — "Speculative fiction" (science fiction, fantasy, horror) has always been a vehicle for writers to explore identity, social inequality, the strangeness of the world, and the hopes and fears for the future. In this monthly book club we'll be reading works of speculative fiction by women and nonbinary writers, discussing the ways these works make us think, feel, and reflect on reality.

haley-cowans-feminist-sci-fi-bookclub-headshot.jpgHosted by Haley Cowans: an editor, former bookseller, and secret writer of unpublished fiction, essays, and  poems. She has worked on various projects with Two Dollar Radio and also enjoys volunteering at Thurber House. Her lifelong obsessions include Joan of Arc, animated film, and browsing staff recommendations at bookstores. Her most recent obsession is her adopted cat Lulu.

 

 


Thursday, January 18, 6pm
The Seep, by Chana Porter

[See on the Events calendar.]

A blend of searing social commentary and speculative fiction, Chana Porter’s fresh, pointed debut is perfect for fans of Jeff VanderMeer and Carmen Maria Machado.

Trina Goldberg-Oneka is a fifty-year-old trans woman whose life is irreversibly altered in the wake of a gentle—but nonetheless world-changing—invasion by an alien entity called The Seep. Through The Seep, everything is connected. Capitalism falls, hierarchies and barriers are broken down; if something can be imagined, it is possible.

Trina and her wife, Deeba, live blissfully under The Seep’s utopian influence—until Deeba begins to imagine what it might be like to be reborn as a baby, which will give her the chance at an even better life. Using Seeptech to make this dream a reality, Deeba moves on to a new existence, leaving Trina devastated.

Heartbroken and deep into an alcoholic binge, Trina follows a lost boy she encounters, embarking on an unexpected quest. In her attempt to save him from The Seep, she will confront not only one of its most avid devotees, but the terrifying void that Deeba has left behind. A strange new elegy of love and loss, The Seep explores grief, alienation, and the ache of moving on.

The Seep, by Chana Porter


PAST PICKS FOR THE FEMINIST SCI-FI BOOKCLUB,
CURATED BY HALEY COWANS

August 2023: Human Resources, poems by Ryaunn Stevenson

I Keep My Exoskeletons To Myself, by Marisa Crane

July 2023: I Keep My Exoskeletons To Myself, by Marisa Crane

I Keep My Exoskeletons To Myself, by Marisa Crane

June 2023: Grievers

Grievers, by Adriene Maree Brown

May 2023: Sweetlust

Sweetlust, by Asja Bakic

April 2023: Imago

Imago, by Octavia E. Butler

 

 

March 2023: A Strange Country

A Strange Country, by Muriel Barbery

February 2023: When I Sing, Mountains Dance

When I Sing Mountains Dance, by Irene Sola

January 2023: Adulthood Rites

Adulthood Rites, by Octavia Butler

December 2022: Lake Like a Mirror

Lake Like a Mirror, by Ho Sok Fong

November 2022: Dawn

Dawn, by Octavia Butler

October 2022: The Word for World Is Forest

The Word for World is Forest, by Ursula K. Leguin

September 2022: Scattered All Over The Earth

 

Scattered All Over The Earth, by Yoko Tawada

August 2022: Famous Men Who Never Lived

 

Famous Men Who Never Lived, by K Chess

July 2022: Frankissstein

Frankisstein by Jeanette Winterson

May 2022: Soft Science

Soft Science, by Franny Choi

April 2022: Lesser Known Monsters of the 21st Century

Lesser Known Monsters of the 21st Century by Kim Fu

 

March 2022: The Book of X by Sarah Rose Etter

The Book of X by Sarah Rose Etter

February 2022: Earthlings by Sayaka Murata

Earthlings by Sayaka Murata 

February 2020: The Deep by Rivers Solomon

The Deep

January 2020: Sooner or Later Everything Falls into the Sea by Sarah Pinsker
 Sooner or Later Everything Falls Into the Sea

December 2019: The Power by Naomi Alderman
The Power

November 2019: The Female Man by Joanna Russ
the-female-man.jpg

October 2019: The Complete Stories of Leonora Carrington
 Complete Stories of Leonora Carrington

September 2019: In Other Lands by Sarah Rees Brennan
In Other Lands

August 2019: The Taiga Syndrome by Cristina Rivera Garza
The Taiga Syndrome

July 2019: Mars: Stories by Asja Bakić
Mars stories

June 2019: Radio Iris
Radio Iris

May 2019: The Wilds by Julia Elliott
the-wilds-book.jpg

April 2019: Parable of the Sower by Octavia Butler
parable-of-the-sower-bookclub.jpg

February 2019: The Orange Eats Creeps by Grace Krilanovich
BOOK AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINE HERE, OR IN THE STORE.
the-orange-eats-creeps-paperback-bookclub.jpg

January 2019: Her Body and Other Parties by Carmen Maria Machado
BOOK AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINE HERE, OR IN THE STORE.
her-body-and-other-parties.jpg

January 2019: The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin
BOOK AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINE HERE, OR IN THE STORE.
left-hand-of-darkness.jpg

December 2018: Stranger Things Happen by Kelly Link, published by Small Beer Press. 
BOOK AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINE HERE, OR IN THE STORE.
stranger-things-happen.jpg

November 2018: Not Dark Yet by Berit Ellingsen, published by Two Dollar Radio. 
BOOK AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINE HERE, OR IN THE STORE.
not-dark-yet-two-dollar-radio-hq.jpg

October 2018: The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson. 
BOOK AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINE HERE, OR IN THE STORE.
the-haunting-of-hill-house-hq-bookclub.jpg

September 2018: An Unkindness of Ghosts by Rivers Solomon, published by Akashic. 
BOOK AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINE HERE, OR IN THE STORE.
an-unkindess-of-ghosts-book-cover.jpg

August 28, 2018The Only Ones by Carola Dibbell, published by Two Dollar Radio. 
BOOK AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINE HERE, OR IN THE STORE.
bookclub-the-only-ones-book.jpg

July 19, 2018: The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood.
BOOK AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINE HERE, OR IN THE STORE.
bookclub-the-handmaids-tale-2018.jpg